How did I discover my anxiety disorder?

I’ve told this story to a lot of people but I want this to be my first blog post. This is the story of how I found out about my social anxiety and how I treated it. I’m getting better now and that’s great! Of course there are good days and there are bad days. But it feels good to see the change.

To be honest I love pills. Not illegal ones! Simple medication like sleeping pills. Because they give you the exact power which you need in no time. You can’t sleep? Just take the pills and you fall sleep immediately. It’s not that I’m not aware of side effects but considering effects that it has (my opinion) worth it.

Sleeping pills need prescription so I visited a doctor and took the pills and I slept whenever I wanted! For me, I think, this was the life changing point. When I took pills it was like never before. It was like oh my god, I’m in whole another world! The feeling of endless calmness. Relaxing, peace, silence.

I used the medication for some days but then I was so afraid. What if I get addicted to those pills? But I had a plan! The plan was to get whatever sleeping pill I need, only with a prescription! Not an awesome plan! I know! But that was kind of a relief.

Time passed and after a while, I tweeted about my depression and a twitter user recommended me a book: The Feeling Good by David D. Burns. I’ve not completed it yet but as I was reading first chapters I realized that maybe I should visit a psychiatrist. Because I thought that I have almost every symptom that author wrote for anxiety.IMG_3666

OK!! I’m not gonna lie! I visited psychiatrist because I wanted to get more of those relaxing pills. But I was afraid of getting addicted so I thought maybe it’s a good idea to just visit a psychiatrist instead of GP. But he didn’t give me any medicine for sleeping. He gave me some anxiety pills and also told me to visit a psychologist. I took his advice.

This was my first step of getting better. In the next post I’m gonna tell you what my psychologist told me. Maybe share some of my phobias and talk about the way I deal with them. Thanks for your time. 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “How did I discover my anxiety disorder?

  1. Great first blog post. I have enjoyed reading it as it is something I can 100% relate to. Thank you for sharing it with us. I am following you so I can read more as I am sure that I can relate to more of your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, this means a lot for me. I had this problem too, as I know some people who suffer from anxiety should take pills for their whole life but some others will get better with taking pills for a period of 6 – 12 months. But we both know that NOT taking pills’ bad effects are sometimes worse than side effects of pills. What I want to say is: it might be a good idea to visit psychiatrist cause they know the best and under their control there is a less chance of getting addicted.

      Like

Leave a Reply

